Ten Songs of Woman


Choreographed and written by: Marjo Kuusela

Composer: Kaj Chydenius

Lyrics: Jukka Itkonen

Lighting design and scenography: Janne Teivainen

Costume design: Mirkka Nyrhinen

Sound design: Eero Auvinen

Stage combat instructor: Oula Kitti

Choreographer's assistant: Urmas Poolamets

Vocalist: Reetta-Kaisa Iles

Dancers: Helmi Järvensivu, Mikko Kaikkonen, Laura Kallas, Saku Koistinen, Päivi Kujansuu, Anni Pilhjärta, Urmas Poolamets, Patrick Di Quirico, Elina Raiskinmäki

Musicians: Henri Haakana, Jukka Nurmela,  Valtteri Valo

Promotional picture: Mikko Mäntyniemi/Ulla Ollila

Production: AB Dance Company & Dance Theatre Rimpparemmi



Dance Theatre Rimpparemmi and AB Dance Company celebrate the centenary of Finland's independence by co-producing a performance that combines dance and music called 'Ten Songs of Woman'. Premiering on August 30th in Rovaniemi, the performance is choreographed and written by the well-renowned choreographer Marjo Kuusela and composed by the legendary composer Kaj Chydenius. 'Ten Songs of Woman' will also be performed in the city of Turku, where it premieres on November 9th.


The leading themes of Ten Songs of Woman are womanhood and the identity of a Finnish woman, overcoming mental and physical limits and the diversity of Finnishness. What drives humans to overcome barriers? Do community and family restrict or reinforce societal defiance? These themes are brought to stage through the stories of influential women who made their mark on Finnish history, as well as the strong Finnish women who were left unknown.


Kuva: Mikko Mäntyniemi / Ulla Ollila